+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

What's your SHSAT prep for the new test

Hello all,
    First time here and as an immigrant parent I'm on a curve of learning the ins and outs of the public general education, admissions, school system, so on..
    To cut to the chase. I never thought of taking the Shsat before, but our school guidance advised us to give it a try as my kid's grades are good and you never know..
    Though, I decided to prep him in September, got 4 books (one is the free handbook from doe). So far, with every day engagements of about 1 to 4 hrs (he's somewhat slow), we managed to finish 2 of them.
    So far, so good. (so what..)
    He's a fast learner, many of the questions he did not know when we started, but i particularly took time of work to prep him (I'm a computer tutor), so i take the time, examine the questions, read the explanations and go over them carefully. Basically, I'm the tutor, as i don't have the funds to go through expensive, even inexpensive one, but it's so wearing.
    Now, i keep noticing, that on some days he is doing pretty good on the practice tests, gets most of them correct, on other days, on the same type of tests, full of mistakes...
    We are shooting for all tech schools in the specialized ones. So, his stronger side is math, but he is also good on reading comprehension, besides that - Ela (grammar in particular) is a cry situation

I would love to hear from other parents who are prepping their kids, one way or another. What books or sources you use, what websites.. What's your story