+ Reply to Thread

Post 9th grade shsat vs my zone school

I got into one of the best middle schools in nyc. I would say that I am an average student here. I got into my zoned school for hs. At first, I was devastated and I planned on retaking the shsat. But now, Iím starting to like my zoned school because I am one of the top students in my class. I like it here. But my parents donít want to me stay here. I have not decided if I should give up on retaking the shsat. So if I do get in through the 9th grade shsat, do I have a choice between my current hs and the specialized one? Or is it just like the second round of hs applications for 8th graders? We were not given a choice, if we were accepted into our second round choice, that is final and we didnít get to choose between our first round acceptance and our second round acceptance.

If you retake the SHSAT and get a SHS choice, you are not automatically transferred to that SHS. You still have the option of accepting it or not. To be clearer: You can retake the SHSAT, meet a cutoff and get accepted into a SHS, but reject it and stay in your current HS. Your current HS is your HS until changed. So yes, you have a choice to stay in your current HS even if you get accepted into a SHS.
    Passionate tutor of Elementary School subjects specializing in NY state tests, and the specialized high/middle school tests (SHSAT, Hunter, TACHS/CHSEE, BCA, MS 54, Anderson...)

Quote Originally Posted by NYCSTUDENT1487 View Post